As the national standardisation authority, the SABS is responsible for developing and maintaining the database of more than 6 000 South African National Standards (SANS) which govern the broad range of products and services offered to the South African people. The SABS operates an inclusive standards development process in which industry, government, civil society and consumer bodies all provide input through representation in the technical committees which develop standards. It is often voluntary work in which outstanding commitment and professional excellence is rewarded by the Standards Awards.

The SABS Standards Development Award recognises an outstanding individual contribution to technical committee work. Among other criteria, the winner will hold a leadership position in either a national or international technical committee, will contribute substantially to documents drafted by the committee, and will initiate proposals for the development of new standards that ensure national relevance and market growth.

Continuity and succession are vital in standards development. The Young Standards Professional Award identifies and rewards a young achiever who is a relative newcomer to the standards development arena and has made a promising start to their standardisation career. Criteria include improving service delivery to industry through outstanding contribution to standards development and/or promoting standardisation
within their organisation. The winner of this award will be younger than 40 but will have been involved with standards development work for at least three years.

To foster interest in and contribution to standardisation among the country's brightest young minds, the SABS offers the Essay Competition Award. Registered students may submit essays on the standardisation topic chosen by the SABS, which will be aligned with the theme for International World Standards Day. This award not only honours the best essay on the benefits of standardisation supported by research. It also encourages tertiary education institutions to add courses on standards and standardisation to their curriculum, enhancing the profile of standardisation and its value to the economy.

In the future, it is envisaged that the Standards Awards will be supplemented by a further category: the Standards Committee Award. Based on similar criteria to the Standards Development Award, this new accolade will honour the entire committee for productivity, commitment and ability to resolve conflict during the standards development process.

(Science & Technology )Malcolm Sande
(Microsoft Award) Katlego Seleka

Gianfranco Campetti


Nyaradzo Chigombo and
Gary Lloyd